Pick a contract, play a game…

mercs2

That’s right, I’m doing it for money now. It was only a matter of time.

I decided Saturday night that I wanted to play Mercs for Summer Rampage this year. I didn’t do SR last year and can’t remember what I used two years ago. It was Cygnar or Protectorate.

That all changes, starting now.

I’ve proudly worn the Cygnus on my profile on the PP boards. This afternoon, after some thought, I changed it to Mercs. The Cygnus will return, once I’ve learned how to win with Mercs. Mike has pwned me for three months now, including a 750-point doubleheader on Friday. I need to do something to change the way I think and the way I play. I’ve become predictable and don’t try different models or combinations. 

Time for a fundamental shift in the way I approach Warmachine.

I have a ton of models for Highborn Covenant and plenty for Four Star Syndicate. I can even field a decent Magnus Agenda. I’m lacking Searforge models, but have access to Highshields and Forgeguard. I can use all things Steelheads as well, though I will contract out the assembly of the Halberdiers when I get them. I hate those fuckers with a burning passion from the depths of Ur Caen. Oh sure, I can paint the shit out of em, but since these will be my models, they’ll become astronauts if I assemble them. I guarantee it.

I’ll start out with Highborn, since it’s all stuff I can use with Cygnar. I love Ashlynn, Fiona and Bart. I’ve got a fun Gorten list too (thank you iBodger!). Naturally, I have enough jacks to get things done. I just need to get models assembled. Here’s hoping it’s slow at work this week. 

Summer Rampage is the main reason for the switch — the first Mk II book will be based on which faction wins. So over in the Merc forums, there’s already an effort to get organized for this summer. Right now, we’ve got 5 or 6 at the LGS who are on board with this. Between now and July or August, our numbers should grow.

Pick a contract and play a game. And while you’re at it, throw in your support for a Steelhead Warcaster!

4 Responses to Pick a contract, play a game…

  1. deadmanstales says:

    No!!! Traitor!!! J/K Seems like you’re jazzed to switch things up and keep it fresh. Very cool.

    • bobaferret says:

      Hah. I know. It felt weird changing my faction icon on the forums, but I need to stop thinking like a Cygnar player and more like a dirty sell sword. I mean, my fellow profiteers! 😉

  2. superczhunk says:

    Woohoo, go Highborn!

    My plan is to run Ashlynn, Amon, Mohsar and all the Skorne ‘locks for fun. I’ve played the first 2 since they came out and it’s been both fun and difficult lol.

    Since there is no Steelhead Caster, I’ve opted to make Ashlynn the interim leader by creating a Llaelese Steelhead list. 3 units of Steelhead Halberdiers with the proper equipment (Khador Kommando Guns/Shields and Man-O-War Hammers) to act as Steelhead High Shield Gun Corps, Steelhead Forge Guard and Steelhead Halberdiers…it’s been fun so far. 🙂

  3. brotherscott says:

    Ashlynn makes for a good Steelhead ‘caster, for more fun try Fiona the Black and everything Steelhead (Halbardiers, Cavalry, Brocker). It makes for a lot of fun, and you can take Alexia for a bigger speed bump.

Leave a Reply

