Getting caught up, and getting on board…

Well, here it is, the end of March. I haven’t been good about posting WIP because I haven’t been feeling the urge to paint. I think the painting bug is back. The key is variety for me. The commission Cygnar Trenchers and ‘jacks have been my bane this last month, I did manage to finish the Sharpshooter and may even have the rest of the unit done by tomorrow, which would probably make the Kenny very happy. I need to get more ‘jacks done for him, and I am glad he is a patient client.

I did manage to get something started and to the inking stage pretty quick, like yesterday. I was able to pick up a 3rd Nomad for fairly cheap ($10), and decided the theme for them will be ‘old cars’, namely the ’55- ’57 Chevrolet Nomads. I started ’57 yesterday, here is where he sits currently:

Nomad

Nomad

… and the Trenchers:

Kenny's Trenchers

Kenny's Trenchers

Just to change things up and make the Nomad look a little dirty, I used the Citadel Devlan Mud wash, and was pretty happy with it overall. Badab Black may have been a better choice, but I am not going back and doing it again.

The other part of this is about going Merc for Summer Rampage. I am all for it. Of course, I think I have just about everything Merc one can have, and I am especially full of Pirates and Privateers, though I have a fondness for running 4 Star, and sometimes even Searforge contracts (since I do have Brun & Lug).

The last Summer Rampage was a lot of fun, and I am glad that Privateer reduced the number of tours in the Call to Arms League so we as players could recover and not suffer from burnout. Four 5 week tours and a Summer Rampage plus the rest of the organized play and events makes it a lot easier to hit the proverbial gaming wall. I am glad they made it 3 tours this year, plus Summer Rampage, and then this coming month is the Mark II BETA, so we will have our hands full. The beauty of Summer Rampage and playing mercs will be that I will have a good amount of time to paint my Mercenary forces, as long as I can keep up on the Band of Bodgers II Circle army I am painting.

2 Responses to Getting caught up, and getting on board…

  1. NirmOmind says:

    Great site this lightningstrykes-redfinnegas.blogspot.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this “https://ghettokorestudios.wordpress.com/2009/03/30/getting-caught-up-and-getting-on-board/” post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  2. bobaferret says:

    Glad to have you aboard! I need to add you to the blogroll, as I like reading your posts as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

