Terrain?

I had a request from a local gamer for some of the terrain I built for the last C2A tour. He wanted 4 each of the 4″x6″ and 6″x8″ forests, and the 4″x8″ water feature.
I thought I would document some of the progress and a little of the “how to” involved. These are pretty simple, and I learned some things after the first set I made, so these are going pretty quick.
I picked up a few sheets of sheet styrene (.75mm is fairly sturdy and easy to cut with household scissors) and cut out the pieces I was going to need for the appropriate size of terrain. I ended up with 4 extra pieces of 4″x6″ cards that I will use for more terrain for the LGS, probably wait until I know what will be needed for the new tour. I then rounded the corners and added some curves to get them looking like this:

4"x8" water feature, before paint

4"x8" water feature, before paint

The next step for the water features was to throw a blue foundation coat on one side.

Blue foundation coat

Blue foundation coat

I then took a brown foundation around the edges where I intend to glue down the basing material.

Brown foundation around the edges.

Brown foundation around the edges.

Throwing down the base coats

Throwing down the base coats

The next step was to lay down a coat of Cygnar Blue Base where the deeper water will be, and Meridius Blue in the shallow parts. I allowed for the basing material I will be putting in as islands.
At this point I am letting the paint dry. The intent is to build up the basing ballast around the edges enough so I can use a water effect to give the terrain a little realism. I will of course add flock and bigger rocks to give some variation and personality to the pieces.

The forests are pretty easy as well. Having already cut them out to the needed sizes, I rounded the corners and added curves much like the water features.

4"x6" forest terrain, ready for paint.

4"x6" forest terrain, ready for paint.

Here is something that I learned from last time using foundation green paint, it doesn’t cover well, and I get bored painting the same thing. So I got creative (and I didn’t want to paint 8 pieces of green terrain), and went to the local hardware shop and picked up a can of camouflage green spray paint. It wasn’t raining today, so I headed outside, laid down some newspaper, and proceeded to paint the quick and easy way.

Painted forest bases.

Painted forest bases.

The next step will be to apply flock to the forests. I will be using a mixture of static grass, dirt and underbrush looking flock, and some bigger rocks.
I will either work on this tomorrow (I am itching to get some MKII games in) or over the weekend, but I will update my progress and hopefully have some finished product to show off.

Thanks for checking in-

scott

One Response to Terrain?

  1. bobaferret says:

    That’s it! YOU’RE HIRED! 😀

Leave a Reply

