Terrain, part deux

OK, a little later than promised, but here is what I have been doing with the water and forest terrain pieces I left off with last time. I had to let these season just a little bit and get the materials I wanted to use. I left off with the forest pieces at a real easy spot- I had cut them out, shaped them and gave them a once over with some green camouflage spray paint. I wanted to make these a little different, so I added dirt flock first, followed by dark green static grass. This becomes the part where I start feeling a little like Bob Ross (the “happy trees” painter). These are my forests, so the dirt will live where I want it to, and the grass will go on around it.

Dirt flock on a 6" x 8" forest.

Dirt flock on a 6" x 8" forest.

Dark Green static grass, 6" x 8" forest

Dark Green static grass, 6" x 8" forest

I left off here to let the glue dry and set the static grass. I will add undergrowth for the next step and then lay on a coat of Matte Varnish to help protect the pieces. Remember, there are 4 each of these, 4″x6″ and 6″x8″. I am only showing one for ease of demonstration. The end result will look something like this:

Almost done...

Almost done...

Where the forest pieces were easy, the water terrain pieces have become a little more labor intensive. Of course, this is all personal choice, and I am trying to deliver a quality product to the client.
After letting the paint dry, I ran a bead of tacky glue around the edges of the water feature that I had painted brown, and where I wanted my little islands to be.

Tacky glue.....

Tacky glue.....

I then put down a layer of basing material for my dirt. Since I am using railroad modeler’s water effect, I need something to keep the water in and on the piece.

4 water terrain pieces, basing material glued in place

4 water terrain pieces, basing material glued in place

After the basing material dries, I am ready to add bigger rocks, flock, and static grass, pretty much in that order.

bigger rocks added

bigger rocks added

rocks and flock

rocks and flock

... and finally static grass.

... and finally static grass.

After everything had dried, I threw 2 coats of matte varnish on the water pieces. “Why?” you may ask, well, after laying down the water effect the last time I did this, I shot 2 coats of matte varnish and a coat of Dullcote and completely ruined the water effect. Even gloss varnish didn’t help. Those were the ones I donated to the LGS’ terrain stock, and I wanted to see what I could do for fairly cheap.
OK, back to work. I let the pieces dry in the warm sun ( I am glad summer is close), so they were good and dry. I should stress that working with the “water” should be done in a well ventilated area, and follow the manufacturer’s instructions.

Here comes the tricky part...

Here comes the tricky part...

The “water” is almost like glue, but pours pretty quick. I very carefully poured a small amount all around the piece, making sure not to get on the basing material, and hopefully not getting too much on the piece. I rotated and flipped the pieces around to get good coverage, and filled in where needed with a toothpick. This stuff will shred a paintbrush, and the toothpicks were more accurate for what I needed. The end result of this step looks something like this:

 after water effect, I had to get the light in there as a reflection.

after water effect, I had to get the light in there as a reflection.

The only thing left to do is to let the water terrain pieces sit for 24 hours for the effect to set up.
As far as the forests go, I have some rocks and undergrowth to get down and I will be able to seal them. Since my client is a Circle player, I am going to make one of the bigger forests up to fit his faction. A fire ring and autumn flock are on the agenda for that piece.
I will post completed pictures either Tuesday or Wednesday, I am looking to deliver the pieces Wednesday.

Thanks for checking in-

scott

Leave a Reply

