Metamorphosis releases

I don’t usually do a whole lot related to upcoming releases since people usually find them in other places, but I hadn’t seen all of these posted in my usual spots (TGN and the forums) so I figured what the heck?

I have to say, I’m impressed with all of the sculpts except one. I’ll get to paint up the Skorne stuff for commission, and I hate to admit it, I’m looking forward to it. Mostly because of the color scheme my client picked.

Anyway, off we go.

July releases:

Calandra Truthsayer

Calandra

This is a badass model that's full of character. Love the sculpt, can't wait to paint her.

Mohsar the Desertwalker

Yes, this model is full of win. Then again, I kinda have a thing for models with cloaks right now.

Yes, this model is full of win. Then again, I kinda have a thing for models with cloaks right now.

Absylonia, the Terror of Everblight

I'm not sure about this one. I know she does mean stuff, but seriously, she looks like she wants to go for a swim. Sorry.

I'm not sure about this one. I know she does mean stuff, but seriously, she looks like she wants to go for a swim. Sorry.

Void Seer Mordikaar

I'm actually impressed with this model. I might try OSL when I paint him on commission. He's such a d-bag in the story, though.

I'm actually impressed with this model. I might try OSL when I paint him on commission. He's such a d-bag in the story, though.

Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

I know we've seen pics of these guys before, but I love the sculpts. Chris Walton's concept sketches of these two are awesome and the models really reflect that.

I know we've seen pics of these guys before, but I love the sculpts. Chris Walton's concept sketches of these two are awesome and the models really reflect that.

August releases:

Troll Whelps

I will field three units of Whelps. I will buy another two for modeling. Or more.

I will field three units of Whelps. I will buy another two for modeling. Or more.

Nephilim Protector

I know some people were "meh" about his abilities, but I really like the look of this model. All that armor will paint fast.

I know some people were "meh" about his abilities, but I really like the look of this model. All that armor will paint fast.

Bloodrunner Master Tormentor

Another Skorne model I'm surprisingly happy about. Must be that silly cloak.

Another Skorne model I'm surprisingly happy about. Must be that silly cloak.

Skorne Bloodrunners

Decent variety, nice sense of movement with these. Can't wait to have more stuff I've painted come kill my army.

Decent variety, nice sense of movement with these. Can't wait to have more stuff I've painted come kill my army.

Skorne Tyrant Commander & Standard Bearer

OK. The Tyrant is wearing a bad-ass helmet. Why the hell can't more Skorne models wear cool helmets like this? Seriously.

OK. The Tyrant is wearing a bad-ass helmet. Why the hell can't more Skorne models wear cool helmets like this? Seriously.

Overall, I think these models look great. I’m not sure when I’ll find time to paint the commissions, but when do I ever? Out of all of those, I think Calandra and Mohsar are my favorites. I can’t wait to paint Calandra — she’ll look stunning in bright pink and there’s so much character in that model (another great concept sketch by Chris Walton).

I’m a lot more excited about Metamorphosis now that we’ve finally been able to see some of the sculpts. Now to just get my hands on them…

Leave a Reply

