Hooray!

Not only did Privateer Press unveil its new web site today, but there's a new Warmachine logo too. Props to Tinman_XL for getting a clean version of the logo!

Not only did Privateer Press unveil its new web site today, but there's a new Warmachine logo too. Props to Tinman_XL for getting a "clean" version of the logo!

Once again, I find myself in the position of wanting to punch people in the face through the internet. Once again, I am amazed that people will complain about anything and everything.

I should not be amazed. I should expect this by now. In all my years on internet forums, I should know to expect the doomsayers and the bitching.

I guess it’s because I know several of the PPSers and consider them my friends. I’ve got loyalty to Privateer Press, first as a gamer and secondly as a member of the Press Gang. I don’t always agree 100% with everything the company does (as I’ve stated in previous posts) but really, I’ve yet to be disappointed with anything the company has done — with the exception of the Hordes tokens, and we really don’t talk about those. 😉

Several of us PGs got our first glimpse of the web site at the Invitational last month (oh it’s so sad to say that was last month…). I was lucky enough to get a look at it Sunday and was able to spend quite a bit of time looking for bugs for Daryl (aka The Web Guy, sorahn on the forums).

Maybe it’s the time I spent in tech support, or it’s just being observant, but I took my time going through the site, understanding that it was a work in progress and that there was still much to do. I made some suggestions, things got fixed, no problem.

I think it’s much better than the old site. It’s very thematic and the respective Warmachine and Hordes pages capture the feel of the games nicely.

What I can’t wrap my brain around is the belief that with enough whining, things will get changed. There is very obviously a direction Privateer wanted to take the web site, and they are heading in that direction, full speed ahead. Bitching and whining isn’t the answer. “The old site was better, this one sucks” or “Man, this thing is so slow, you guys suck” doesn’t help anyone. Grow up. Come up with something constructive and fill out the feedback form.

I really like the new site. I hope those of you who haven’t visited the new home page do so in the next few days. 🙂

One Response to Hooray!

  1. Elliott says:

    Hey, thanks for alerting me to the new site! I just blogged my opinions of it, but in short: I agree with you. The new website is really awesome, and I’m glad PP did such a good job making it.

Leave a Reply

