Cryxy goodness!

Hey, it’s been almost a month since I’ve posted anything in this space.

For starters, things in the personal life  have taken a strange turn in that my stepdad has been missing since June 20. His single-engine Beechcraft Bonanza never arrived at its destination and the search was called off July 10. Needless to say, blogging and painting have taken a backseat.

But I’ve actually worked up something I thought was worth sharing, so here we go.

I got tired of this thing mocking me from the painting desk.

I got tired of this thing mocking me from the painting desk.

She's really tiny, especially for Warmachine scale

She's really tiny, especially for Warmachine scale

"If I hold really still, maybe it won't see me..."

"If I hold really still, maybe it won't see me..."

The obligatory shot from the GF9 Cryx table at the LGS.

The obligatory shot from the GF9 Cryx table at the LGS.

"RAWR" in Helljack means "nom nom nom" — unlike Dinosaur, which means "I love you."

"RAWR" in Helljack means "nom nom nom" — unlike Dinosaur, where "RAWR" means "I love you." Gotta watch out for those subtle language variances.

And I painted these Bile Thralls about two months ago but don’t think I ever posted pics. Well, I just did in the forums, but that doesn’t count. 😛

*urp* Hi, my name is Vicki and I'll be your *BLART*

*urp* Hi, my name is Vicki and I'll be your *BLART*

Gotta love those skinny little legs and those fat bellies...

Gotta love those skinny little legs and those fat bellies...

Mmmm... back fat and pus. Yum. o_O

Mmmm... back fat and pus. Yum. o_O

In painting these guys, I discovered some interesting things about the P3 paint line:

  • Trollblood base is VERY good for painting things other than Trolls
  • Turquoise ink isn’t just for Cygnar any more
  • Morrow White + water + Future Floor Wax = great way to get “ghostly” effect (use a brush with a very good tip, paint in very, very thin layers)
  • I need to use more Radiant Platinum
  • Meridius Blue is another very under-used color
  • Necrotite Green can be very distracting

Anyway, I have more Cryx to build in the morning, so I need to hit the rack.

I’ll try to be more regular about posting stuff. 😛 (Famous last words, I know…)

7 Responses to Cryxy goodness!

  1. Ambassador says:

    Bobaferret,
    I only know you from your posting here and on the PP forums, but my heart goes out to you during this time. You will be in our thoughts and prayers.

  2. gdaybloke says:

    ,,, wiw (*boggles*)

    I’m thoroughly impressed with the Nightmare, Jen. Great work.

    And of course, your family is still in our prayers…

  3. D.Vader says:

    Nice work Jen. I will continue to keep you and your family in my prayers.

  4. armasheddon says:

    nice work indeed – keep up with the good work and It hope it works out well for you.

  5. Feeple says:

    Boba,

    Sorry to hear. I hope they find your stepdad soon. My Dad’s a private pilot, I know I would be putting everything on the back burner if he went missing, too.

  6. Jyggdrasil says:

    That is some terrific work, especially the little girl with the Nightmare. I know how bloody small that piece is, tho I have yet to attempt it myself.

  7. Neomorte says:

    I just ran across this while randomly browsing via google. I really dig the nightmare paint job. He looks nearly ghostly. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

