Another brother scott posting-

OK, it may have been too long already, but I am seemingly busy (mostly playing games and holding on to the top spot on the Call to Arms Tour ladder). I have been painting and making terrain as well. I even have some commission work done, and managed to finish the Trencher unit in June. I haven’t (obviously) been keeping up in the blogosphere, though I have been taking pictures and getting a few articles ready for publication here.
I admit that I have been pretty lazy about actually getting any writing done, but in the next few days I will be posting updates and goings on for last month or so.
We will start with an easy one today:

A few folks have mentioned their Sili-coil tanks get pretty dirty and they aren’t able to get the coil out to properly clean the tank and the coil. Clean water and a clean tank are very important for keeping brushes clean and making sure our paints stick to the models without any extra, well, stuff.
I let my tank get this dirty on purpose. I painted a few things and let it sit for about a day or so.
Dirty Coil Tank

OK, it isn’t filthy. Just has some floaters and not any real color. It bothered me to let this sit.
First thing is to rinse the tank out. I use the hottest water my hands can stand.
The trick is to flip the coil upside down. I manage this by pressing on one side of the coil. I have rather large hands, so getting a finger on the other side and flipping the coil can be tricky (it is also trickier trying this with one hand and using a camera in the other. Two hands do work best).
Warmachine, terrain, how tos 058Warmachine, terrain, how tos 059
Since the coil is a corkscrew of sorts, spin the coil out of the tank, you will need to use a little pressure to get the main part out of the tank. Don’t worry too much about bending the coil up, it goes back into shape pretty easy. Also, do watch out for the ends as they are sharp and can poke you.
Warmachine, terrain, how tos 064
I take a regular nylon brush and scrub the coil, and using hot water and dish soap, scrub out the tank. Rinse the tank and coil thoroughly, and if you are not going to use it right away, let it air dry.
Warmachine, terrain, how tos 065
Putting a coil tank back together is the reverse of taking one apart. It might be tricky at first, but after a few times it will become part of the routine. I have two tanks at my desk, one for metallic paints and one for regular acrylics. I take them apart and clean them about once a week as a precaution (and if I got lazy or tired and didn’t rinse them out after a session).

Warmachine, terrain, how tos 068
To keep the tanks from getting truly nasty, change out your water often and rinse them after each painting session. I have even started using a clean water container to double rinse my brushes between paints. It does seem to make a difference.

On a side note, I wasn’t able to hold onto the top spot in the Call to Arms league, and my Khador playing 15 year old son took top honors and played really well. I did manage to take second and win a medal, but at the moment I do not remember what it was. So much for the hard work.

Leave a Reply

