BCB: Boise update

BCB logocBreast Cancer Brawl: Boise is rapidly approaching. The added wrinkle to all of this is that the LGS is also hosting an ‘Ard Boyz semi-final due to some issues with communication. But we’re gonna make it work — BCB gets the gaming area at the store, the WHFB guys get one of the vacant store fronts. We’ve got room for 20 tables, which means a maximum of 40 (forty!!) Warmachine/Hordes players!

The good news is, I’ll have help running tourney ops (thanks, Scott!). I’m dragging the Powerbook with me and I’ll be running the tourney software we used at Gencon (thanks, Shav!). That will make my life a lot easier. The other good news is we’ve received two donations already and my players sound like they’re ready to open their wallets for the cause. Shirts are at the printer’s, and Project: Rabid Wombat is under way. Just a few more  details to finish with that. I’ve got to find a few more things to include in the player packets, but some of that is stuff I can do at the last minute.

Prize support has been ordered — we’re getting in the gorgeous Steamroller trophies for the top three finishers. And we’ve also got autographed prints from Matt Wilson for our most generous donors. Khador for the Cure will be ready, and I’ll post pics over at Project: Paint Pink. Cygnus of Awareness will be there too, there’s a pink-themed Circle army and an Ashlynn-led Merc force done up in pink. All will be available for auction locally first; the stuff that doesn’t go to locals will be put on eBay. Stay tuned for details.

No word on if we’ll have visitors from Seattle. I’m hoping we do, but if we don’t, it won’t be the end of the world. It just means I’ll have to mail off thank-you gifts (I’m talking to you, Chris Walton). 😉

On the painting side of things, I’ve been juggling several deadlines and I’ve managed to meet two of them. The first was painting the Retribution “boxed set” which was shown in an earlier post. The other was painting up a model for the PG mini exchange. Here are pics:

Paladin of the Wall

Paladin of the Wall

I've gotten pretty good at painting cloaks.

I've gotten pretty good at painting cloaks.

I blame Graham 100 percent for my new inclination to paint armor as … armor. His insistence that I paint his Sword Knight and Stormguard in full plate isn’t a bad thing, and I think it works well on the paladin. In fact, it works well enough with the Menoth White Base/Highlight that I’m seriously considering repainting my Protectorate. After all, three armies done up with gray as a base is a bit much. So we’ll see.

For the record, it was *very* difficult to put this guy in the mail. I really wanted to keep him. That doesn’t happen too often with commissions for me. But this was the fist paladin I’ve actually completed — I own four. Vilmon and his boys will look like this one. Then I’ll decide what to do with the rest of the army. 😛

And now better pics of the Angry Elves™.

Pink-haired, pointy-eared, anime assassin!

Pink-haired, pointy-eared, anime assassin!

Kiki the Chimera

Kiki the Chimera

Merv Griffon

Merv Griffon

Monty Manticore

Monty Manticore

The whole gang

The whole gang

One Response to BCB: Boise update

  1. gdaybloke says:

    Merv Griffon??? HAH!

    Nice Paladin too 🙂 I love the idea of the PG Mini Exchange… that’s awesome…

Leave a Reply

