Resurgence, brotherscott style

I have to admit I am very happy MK II Warmachine is here. The cards come out this week, and there is even a midnight release at the FLGS (Favorite Local Game Store). I will wait until Wednesday to get my Mercenary deck. Wait. I said Mercenary. What is going on with the Protectorate player? Well, I like Mercenaries as well.They offer a fun option, and when you win with Mercs, the victory just seems that much sweeter.

This is what I have come up with:

Magnus the Traitor (Most Wanted)

-Mangler

-Renegade (Zach)

-Renegade (Tom)

Steelhead Halberdiers (10)

Steelhead Heavy Cavalry (3)

24 out of 25 points.

The Renegades cost 1 less each, and since I have two units of Steelheads, the Halberdiers get Advanced Move, as well as being able to place a large base and two small based wreck markers prior to army set up and starting with Magnus’ upkeep spells on models in his battlegroup.

I have a pretty good idea of how this will all work, One Renegade will get Snipe (+4′ RNG), and the Mangler will get Temper Metal (+2 ARm, immune to continuous effects). Blur ends up on the Steelheads to protect them from ranged attacks, and the Heavy Cav will either back the Halberdiers up or provide a flanking force, depending on what I face across the table.  In the games I have played Magnus has held up reasonably well, but I know there are players and armies I am not going to like facing, so I do not think I have an over the top list, I just have options.

Moving up to 35 points, I am looking at filling out the Heavy Cavalry and adding a minimum unit of Boomhowler & Company. Since Resurgence is a Prime release event, only character and character units from Prime (Boomhowler & Co., Eiryss, Reinholdt, and Herne & Jonne) will be allowed in the 25 and 35 point levels. Not a huge advantage, but I am looking to their medium bases to block line of sight to Magnus, and for them to be more of a second wave/ bodyguard unit for the boss.

Up at the 50 point level, I fill out Boomhowler & Co., add Stannis Brocker, and a Mule. I think this gives me a lot of flexibility, and allows for me to play timed turns without a lot of rushing (limiting mistakes). The Mule is there to back up the Mangler, and to have a place for Snipe to go after the Renagades have shot their Obliterator Rockets.

We will see how it all shakes down on Sunday.

Magnus will forgo the Talon to include another Renagade to help Zach the Renegade.

Tom, the second Renegade, thus making the Renegades of Funk.

I could field a fully painted army if I can get Stannis and the Cavalry painted this week. No promises, but I will see what I can do.

Thanks for checking in-

brotherscott

Leave a Reply

