Project Shiba: Behind the scenes

Hey, it’s been awhile!

I’ve been busy with plenty of painting projects and I’m actually to a point where I can write about them. A few of you may have heard about Project Shiba, in which I painted up an Ashlynn d’Elysse battlegroup as described here. After Ep6 of Lost Hemisphere Radio, in which MenothJohn describes an Ashlynn-led Highborn force, I got it into my head to paint up a battlegroup for him to help get the army started. I had started work on a Vanguard conversion, had a Nomad conversion, a Mangler and was able to acquire a custom-built Ashlynn model. It was just a matter of getting it painted and delivered.

So, what I’ve got for this space are the work-in-progress shots that show how Shiba came together.

 

Testing the color scheme on the Vanguard.

 

 

After metallics, basecoats were Gun Corps Brown and Exile Blue.

 

 

Hammerfall Khaki and Beaten Purple.

 

 

A "character" Vanguard needs character... in the form of a flag.

 

 

Merywyn the Vanguard, at the ready.

 

 

Mangler gets the same treatment with Gun Corps Brown and Exile Blue.

 

 

Bringing the colors up.

 

 

Highlights... Sanguine Base over the Beaten Purple.

 

 

The 'jacks all get Llaelese freehand.

 

 

Ashlynn conversion: Ashlynn torso and arms; Daughter of the Flame legs; Gravus cape. Thanks Adam!

 

 

Riposte!

 

 

And a gun in this hand...

 

 

The cape was very fun to paint. Oh, and I didn't paint her as a blond. 😉

 

 

By some miracle, Ashlynn's actually looking down the blade.

 

 

This was the "player to be named later" — a surprise addition to the battlegroup.

 

 

Ironclad boiler added to the Nomad.

 

 

The Nomad just might be my favorite paint job in the bunch.

 

 

Project Shiba takes the battlefield!

 

 

Kaelyssa meets the Nomad. Their first date did not go so well.

 

So there ya have it, a fairly incomplete look at Project Shiba behind the scenes. If you’re interested in hearing about Shiba’s first battle, check out Lost Hemisphere Radio’s Ep13.

Assuming I have my stuff together, I’ll get pics of my Angry Elves in this space too. 🙂

One Response to Project Shiba: Behind the scenes

  1. Koldunlord says:

    They look great! Nice freehand job on the Llael logo. I haven’t gotten around to listening to LHR13 (later this week), but I can’t wait to hear how they did.

    I’m working on a Ashlynn-led Highborn Covenant army (with Gun Mages and Taryn/Rutger).

    The Ashlyn conversion looks fantastic. I really want to steal…er…borrow that idea, so I’m off to the PP bits store to see what I can get.

Leave a Reply

